Final Cut: Free Vignette filter

On a recent job I found myself creating a vignette shape in Photoshop because the Vignette filter in Final Cut wasn’t flexible enough for me.

Here’s a new free plugin the gives you control over the position and aspect ratio of the vignette. That means you can direct the audience’s view and even use it for irising effects:


vignetteui

Unlike the Vignette filter that comes with Motion (and appears in Final Cut Pro), my filter doesn’t have the option to blur or desaturate the darkened area. An upside is that this should work in Final Cut Express, although I don’t have a copy to test it on.

Download Alex 4D Vignette

To use this plugin, download the ZIP document, copy the ‘Alex4D Vignette.fcfcc’ file to

Your Startup HD/Library/Application Support/Final Cut Pro System Support/Plugins

(Your Startup HD/Users/your name/Library/Application Support/Final Cut Express Support/Plugins for Final Cut Express users)

‘Alex4D Vignette’ will appear in the ‘Stylize’ filter category.

If you want a lot more control over your vignetting, visit Natress and check out their G Vignette plugin – it’s part of a large plugin set that costs less than £75.

Visit my Final Cut home for more plugins and tips
finalcuthomethumbnail

20 comments
    • Seth said:

      Great filter. The final touch for a budget short film. Thanks man, no idea how you did it but a great plug in. 🙂

  1. dustatron said:

    played with your filter today. I think this little guy is going the be a nice little time saver. Thanks.

  2. Mark said:

    Hey Alex,

    This is a great new feature! I’m doing a lot more with the video I’ve got now. I’m a beginner, so this is a fantastic, simple, great quality and free.

    I’m using Final Cut Express 4, and it works flawlessly.

  3. Heather said:

    The Alex4D Vignette filter works flawlessly with Final Cut Expres 2.0.3!! Thanks!

  4. Hi there,

    So I just thought I’d say that I love the look of your plugin and I haven’t the faintest idea of how you’ve done it. However I am using FCE and am having a hard time getting it to work. I’ve loaded it to Macintosh HD/Library/Application Support/Final Cut Express Support/Plugins/FXScript DVE’s by CGM and it doesn’t seem to show up when I open the effects in FCE. Do you know where I may be going wrong? Thank you so much!

    • Alex said:

      Victoria,

      – there is more than one Library folder, you need to use the one inside your folder in the Users folder:

      Macintosh HD/Users/your name/Library/Application Support/Final Cut Express Support/Plugins

  5. Glen said:

    Hey Alex great little plugin cant wait to start using it

  6. Neil said:

    Alex,
    This is exactly what I needed. I’m a newbie user that’s putting together a video for a birthday present and needed this to focus the viewer in one part of the video. I’m using FCE4. It works perfectly.
    Thank you for sharing this.
    Best Regards,
    neil
    p.s. I have only one application support folder, and it’s located at My Startup HD/Library/Application Support/Final Cut Express Support/Plugins

  7. Ethan said:

    It looks great but I cant get it to work. I’m using FCE 4 and a loaded it into the folders according to directions but when I open it up it says FIle Error: Wrong Type. Has anyone else had this problem if so what did you do to get it to work?

  8. levi said:

    Thanks! Going to use this on an animation that will be posted at blackrhinorelay.com or rhinochallege.com.

  9. Jeremiah Karr said:

    the final cut vignette filter is a waste of space. yours is great! Thx for sharing my friend!

  10. Girbe said:

    Thanks Alex, I like the vignette filter and used it a lot previously and then some how I lost it. Thanks to Larry Jordan’s Newsletter and you.

    Girbe

  11. Austin said:

    I know that it isnt likely you are even going to read this, but I love the plugin! There’s just one thing it’s missing: Opacity

  12. Ravison said:

    Good plugin. Much better than FCP

Leave a comment